Free LoopLength

Good ideas, proposals, enhancements.
joemaro
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:09 pm

Free LoopLength

Post by joemaro » Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:13 pm

Hey Giada Forums!

as this is my first post here let me congratulate on this AMAZING software!!! amazing ideas coming up!

then as i dont see a "questions" forum i might just ask in here:

Is there a possibility to define my own looplength? usually i'm playing with a loop-pedal that defines the looplength simply by the time between the 2 hits on the pedal...

cant figure out how to get giada doing this...
i think its cool to set Giada to a certain BPM but i dont do these things in my music.

love to hear from you!

joe

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by FFT » Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:22 pm

Hi joe, thank you for your kindness!

Let me see if I understand your idea correctly. You start to record something by pressing one time the big rec button, then, when you have finished, at the second key press, Giada should adjust the length of the beats (or the number of bpm, it's almost the same thing) to the length of your recording. So that you don't have to play inside a fixed range of time, right?


EDIT: we moved your thread to the *new features* area. The *questions* forum is a good hint.
Last edited by FFT on Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.

joemaro
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by joemaro » Tue Apr 09, 2013 8:24 pm

ya thats not a bad idea ... wasnt thinkin about using the bpm part at all but it would make the use of delay much easier because you wouldnt have to adjust the delay time manually ...

i come from the perspective that a looper just works without bpm and stuff, the one i use is a vox dynamic looper vdl-1.

what i am looking forward to is using a software like giada for making live music on scratch without the use of earlier done loops. i ADORE instruments like the InstantSampler ( http://www.muxer.nl/instant-sampler/ )and i'd love to see concepts like these put into bigger contexts like you guys are trying here.

joemaro
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by joemaro » Tue Apr 09, 2013 8:27 pm

so i didnt really answer your question:

yes if Giada would offer me a detected bpm number that would be amazing. multiples are an easy thing to change afterwards.

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by FFT » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:51 pm

I think this is an amazing new feature to add. We could also express the loop length in milliseconds, besides the current value in bpm.
Just a small question: how do you start and stop the loopers (both instantSampler and vdl-1)? Do they work with some sort of sound level detection?

JohannesTress
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:10 pm

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by JohannesTress » Thu May 23, 2013 10:20 am

Hey, came across this thread, searching for the kind of using free sample length. Maybe I can answer your question: In case of the sooper looper there is a threshold fader which controlls the startpoint of the recorded sample. Once the Inputsignal is higher than the thresholdlevel, the recording starts. It only works with starting recordings. Stop recording works by pressing the button again.
Something like this would be a great feature in my opinion, too!

yours
Johannes

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by FFT » Thu May 23, 2013 5:39 pm

JohannesTress wrote: In case of the sooper looper there is a threshold fader which controlls the startpoint of the recorded sample. Once the Inputsignal is higher than the thresholdlevel, the recording starts. It only works with starting recordings. Stop recording works by pressing the button again.
Now I've got it. This feature is amazing and it's already in our to-do list. Thanks again for the infos!

Boi_social
F7 - Goldenseal
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:28 pm

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by Boi_social » Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:41 pm

Yes please!

sindyciaray
F1 - Bilberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:03 am
Contact:

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by sindyciaray » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:17 am

The *questions* forum is a good hint.

savimakwo
F1 - Bilberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:24 am
Contact:

Re: Free LoopLength

Post by savimakwo » Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:59 pm

All of that making free loop which are length making

Post Reply